Lyric Writing Competition

We Are Listening, the London-based artist development company, has gathered the music industry’s finest professionals to form the most distinguished lyric writing competition panel of judges for the Lyric Writer Awards, the premier words-only international lyric writing competition. Judges include Scott Gunter, Creative Director, Universal Music Publishing Nashville; Chris Farren, CEO, Combustion Music Publishing Nashville; Chris Van Belkom, Creative Director, Combustion Music Publishing Nashville; Hiten Bharadia, CEO, Phrased Differently Music Publishing London; Henry Gaffney, Songwriting Department Professor, Berklee College of Music; Pat Pattison, Songwriting Department Professor, Berklee College of Music; award winning songwriter, Kyler England; and staff songwriter, Andrea Stolpe, co-writer of “Fireflies” cut by Faith Hill.

The Lyric Writer Awards is the only international lyric writing competition that awards winners with career-building opportunities, including professional co-writing sessions and publishing deals, as well as artist development services for writers who wish to develop their performing career as well as write for other artists.

Lyric writing competition entries must be original compositions and may submitted as the work of more than one writer (“co-author” or “co-writer”). In the event of a co-written submission, the co-writers will take responsibility for the division of lyric writing competition prizes, which may be presented in the form of a publishing agreement or co-writing proposal by We Are Listening and/or its partners.

Jag Star
"Your contests are a wonderful
resource for artists and we can't
thank you guys enough!"
-Jag Star